Vegetarian Sausage Rolls

???????????????????????????????

Due to pork issues, I needed an alternative to the traditionally British sausage roll for a pot luck carol singing event. Delia raves about these but I have to confess to being a little sceptical. When I told my other half what I planned to make he couldn’t quite get his head round the fact that they were sausage rolls without the sausage.

These are amazing and even the most die-hard meat lover would be hard pushed to admit that they missed the meat. I served these with some Thai sweet chilli sauce for dipping  – easy and delicious!

These are simple to make using bought puff pastry (although Delia provides a recipe for quick flaky pastry which I am sure is excellent). The “sausage” element is more like a veggie stuffing mix with breadcrumbs, onion, herbs and cheese.

They will keep a couple of days but be warned the pastry will lose its crunch and flakiness if stored too long. They freeze beautifully (uncooked) so I would recommend having some in the freezer ready to bake when required as fresh from the oven is definitely best.

I am a convert and will be adding these to my Christmas baking repertoire from now on. Recipe can be found in Delia’s cookbook “Delia Smith’s Christmas” and on her website here.

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Sausage Rolls

  1. Love anything that has onions, stuffing and cheese so these rolls look spectacular!

    I’ve been thinking of trying these with spinach, mushrooms, onions, sour cream, parmesan cheese, eggs, salt and pepper. I used to make an appetizer called “Mushroom Spinach Squares” and it could work in pastry dough. Even spinach and feta cheese would be good.

    Such a good recipe, it has me thinking of all the other things once could bake into puff pasty. 🙂

    Thanks very much for posting this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

